John R. Kasich, Governor
Amol Soin, MD, MBA, President Robert P. Giacalone, JD, Vice President
For the Public
About the Board
File a Complaint
Look Up a License
Public Records Request
Physician- MD, DO
Expedited License- MD, DO
Doctor of Podiatric Medicine- DPM
Training Certificate- MD, DO, DPM
Anesthesiologist Assistant- AA
Cosmetic Therapist- CT
Genetic Counselor- GC
Massage Therapist- MT
Oriental Medicine- OM
Physician Assistant- PA
Radiologist Assistant- RA
Renewal & CME
Physician (MD, DO, DPM)
Training Certificate (MD, DO, DPM)
Anesthesiologist Assistant (AA)
Cosmetic Therapist (CT)
Genetic Counselor (GC)
Massage Therapist (MT)
Oriental Medicine (OM)
Physician Assistant (PA)
Radiologist Assistant (RA)
Clinical Research Faculty Certificate
Certificate of Conceded Eminence
Laws & Rules
Newly Adopted and Proposed Rules
Public Rules Hearing and Rule Making Guide
Records Retention Schedule
Monthly Formal Action
Monthly Cite List
HealthScene Ohio Magazine
Human Trafficking Awareness- Labor Trafficking Video
Human Trafficking Awareness- Sex Trafficking Video
Anesthesiologist Assistant- AA
Anesthesiologist Assistant- AA
Be at least twenty-one years old
Be of good moral character
Submit criminal records checks (FBI and Ohio BCI)
Have successfully completed a training program conducted for the purposes of preparing individuals to practice as anesthesiologist assistants
Successfully pass the certification exam administered through the National Commission for Certification of Anesthesiologist Assistants (NCCAA)
Initial Application Fees
Transaction Fee $3.50
Total due at submission $103.50
eLicense application portal:
Before Completing an Application
Applicants will be required to complete the application in its entirety and pay a non-refundable fee. Applicants will be required to upload any required documents as a result of an affirmative answer provided in the Questions portion of the application, license specific certifications and to have a valid credit card (Visa, MasterCard or Discover).
Criminal Records Check
All applicants for licensure are required to complete an FBI and Ohio BCI criminal records check. Criminal Record Check fees are $24.00 (FBI) and $22.00 (Ohio BCI) plus vendor processing fees.
In-state applicants: You must use the services of a vendor that participates in the "National WebCheck."
Click here for a list of vendors
. The sheriff's offices in most of Ohio's 88 counties also participate in the "National WebCheck." Please allow at least two to four weeks for the Board to receive and process in-state background checks.
Out-of-state applicants: Request a Fingerprint Packet by emailing
. Please allow at least six to eight weeks for the Board to receive and process out-of-state background checks.
: Request that the results be sent directly to the State Medical Board of Ohio. The Medical Board will not accept results from the applicant or a third party.
Required Documents to Be Uploaded
As part of the application process there will be certain documents required to be electronically uploaded as part of the application and other documents will be required to be sent directly to the State Medical Board of Ohio (30 East Broad Street, 3
Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215). Please read the instructions below thoroughly.
The following documentation should be uploaded as part of the application process:
Evidence of current certification from the National Commission for Certification of Anesthesiologist Assistants (NCCAA) and that the requirements for receiving the certification included passage of an examination to determine the individual's competence to practice as an anesthesiologist assistant.
Education transcript from a baccalaureate or higher degree program at an institution of higher education accredited by an organization recognized by the Board of Regents. The program must have included courses in the following areas of study: General biology;
General chemistry; Organic chemistry; Physics; Calculus.
Verification of Anesthesiologist Assistant Training Program Form. The training program must have been conducted for the purpose of preparing individuals to practice as anesthesiologist assistants. If the program was completed prior to May 31, 2000, the program must have been completed at Case Western Reserve University or Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia. If the program is completed on or after May 31, 2000, the program must be a graduate-level program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs.
Verification of certificate, licensure or registration status that you hold with any other country, state or province.
Request license verifications from any state or jurisdiction where you currently hold or previously held a professional license. The State Medical Board of Ohio prefers verifications be delivered by email (
) or fax (614.466.4331).
Documentation related to affirmative answers provided in the Questions portion of the application. Examples of required documentation may include:
Your detailed explanation including the date, location, reason and disposition to the question and any supporting documentation
Documentation related to action taken by another state or entity
Documentation related to arrests/criminal actions
Documentation That Should Be Sent Directly to the Board
Verification of certificate, licensure or registration status that you hold with any other country, state or province that were not uploaded as part of the application process
Criminal Record Check (FBI & Ohio BCI) results
After You Apply
Following submission and payment for your application you will receive a confirmation email. If you need to contact the Board, please email
License Verification Form
Verification of AA Training
An individual should apply for a restoration application if their license has been inactive for two years or more. A certificate may be restored upon an applicant's submission of a restoration application, the biennial registration fee ($100), applicable monetary penalty ($50) and submission of criminal background checks. Please note: The Board may require additional training or examination, or both, of any applicant who for the two years or more immediately preceding the date of application has not been engaged in clinical practice. Apply for restoration at
. You also need to complete an employer recommendation form.
Chapter 4760, Ohio Revised Code
Chapter 4731-24, Ohio Administrative Code
National Commission for Certification of Anesthesiologist Assistants (NCCAA)
Frequently Asked Questions here