John R. Kasich, Governor
Amol Soin, MD, MBA, President Robert P. Giacalone, JD, Vice President
For the Public
About the Board
File a Complaint
Public Records Request
Look Up a License
Physician- MD, DO
Expedited License- MD, DO
Doctor of Podiatric Medicine- DPM
Training Certificate- MD, DO, DPM
Anesthesiologist Assistant- AA
Cosmetic Therapist- CT
Genetic Counselor- GC
Massage Therapist- MT
Oriental Medicine- OM
Physician Assistant- PA
Radiologist Assistant- RA
Renewal & CME
Physician (MD, DO, DPM)
Training Certificate (MD, DO, DPM)
Anesthesiologist Assistant (AA)
Cosmetic Therapist (CT)
Genetic Counselor (GC)
Massage Therapist (MT)
Oriental Medicine (OM)
Physician Assistant (PA)
Radiologist Assistant (RA)
Clinical Research Faculty Certificate
Certificate of Conceded Eminence
Laws & Rules
Newly Adopted and Proposed Rules
Public Rules Hearing and Rule Making Guide
Records Retention Schedule
Monthly Formal Action
Monthly Cite List
HealthScene Ohio Magazine
Human Trafficking Awareness- Labor Trafficking Video
Human Trafficking Awareness- Sex Trafficking Video
Acute Pain Rx Guidelines & Video
Genetic Counselor- GC
Genetic Counselor- GC
Be at least eighteen years old
Be of good moral character
Submit criminal records checks (FBI and Ohio BCI)
Hold a master's degree or higher degree from a genetic counseling graduate program accredited by the
American Board of Genetic Counseling (ABGC)
Be a certified genetic counselor whose certification will not expire before obtaining a license through the State Medical Board of Ohio
Supervised Practice License
A recent graduate who has been approved for the next available certification exam cycle (either February or August) and is in Active Candidate Status (ACS) with the ABGC is eligible. The license is valid for one year from the date it was issued which cannot be renewed. The applicant must have passed the certification exam within that year. The applicant must be supervised by a fully licensed genetic counselor or a fully licensed physician (MD/DO) for the duration of the supervised practice license.
eLicense application portal:
Before Completing an Application
Applicants will be required to complete the application in its entirety and pay a non-refundable fee. Applicants will be required to upload any required documents as a result of an affirmative answer provided in the Questions portion of the application, license specific certifications and to have a valid credit card (Visa, MasterCard or Discover).
The application fee for initial licensure is $200.00.
Criminal Records Check
All applicants for licensure are required to complete an FBI and Ohio BCI criminal records check. Criminal Record Check fees are $24.00 (FBI) and $22.00 (Ohio BCI) plus vendor processing fees.
In-state applicants: You must use the services of a vendor that participates in the "National WebCheck."
Click here for a list of vendors
. The sheriff's offices in most of Ohio's 88 counties also participate in the "National WebCheck." Please allow at least two to four weeks for the Board to receive and process in-state background checks.
Out-of-state applicants: Request a fingerprint packet by emailing
. Please allow at least six to eight weeks for the Board to receive and process out-of-state background checks.
: Request that the results be sent directly to the State Medical Board of Ohio. The Medical Board will not accept results from the applicant or a third party.
Required Documents to Be Uploaded
Evidence of American Board of Genetic Counseling (ABGC) or American Board of Medical Genetics (ABMG) certification status.
Education transcript from Master’s degree or higher program in a genetic counseling graduate program accredited by American Board of Genetic Counseling (ABGC).
Verification of certificate, licensure or registration status that you hold with any other country, state or province.
Documentation related to affirmative answers provided in the Questions portion of the application. Examples of required documentation may include:
Your detailed explanation including the date, location, reason and disposition to the question and any supporting documentation
Documentation related to action taken by another state or entity
Documentation related to arrests/criminal actions
Documents That Should Be Sent Directly to the Board
Verification of certificate, licensure or registration status that you hold with any other country, state or province that were not uploaded as part of the application process
Criminal Record Check (FBI & Ohio BCI) results
After You Apply
Following submission and payment for your application you will receive an email confirming initial application submission and payment. If you need to contact the Board, please email
Verification of State License
Genetic Counselor Supervision Form
An individual should apply for a restoration application if their application has been inactive for two years or more. A certificate may be restored upon an applicant's submission of a restoration application, the biennial registration fee ($150), applicable monetary penalty ($50) and submission of criminal background checks. Please note: The Board may require additional training or examination, or both, of any applicant who for the two years or more immediately preceding the date of application has not been engaged in clinical practice. Request a restoration application by emailing
. You may also need to complete an employer recommendation form.
Chapter 4778, Ohio Revised Code
Chapter 4778, Ohio Administrative Code
American Board of Genetic Counseling
Frequently Asked Questions here