Dietetics

Dietetics Application

The requirements for licensure as a dietitian in Ohio are described in Section 4759.06 to 4759.061 of the Ohio Revised Code.

If you have not created an account in eLicense, please do so. This is the portal where you will apply for and renew licenses. It will also provide you and your employers with printable and electronic license verification.

eLicense allows you to update your address and supervision of exempt practitioners. Name changes can be requested through eLicense via a service request. Click "options" after logging into eLicense to submit your changes.

 

Application


eLicense application portal: eLicense.ohio.gov

 

Initial Application Fees


An initial license is available for individuals meeting academic, pre-professional and examination requirements. The current examination approved by the Board is the examination offered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration for dietitians.

A Limited Permit license is available for individuals who have met academic and pre-professional requirements and are planning to sit for the next available examination.

The following fees must be submitted with the applications. Licenses are issued on a biennial basis*

Initial License $225.00 (previously $125+$95)

Limited Permit License* (expires 10/31 or 4/30 based on issuance date) $65.00

Transaction fee $3.50

 

Criminal Records Checks


All applicants for licensure are required to complete an FBI and Ohio BCI criminal records check. The Ohio background check packet and instructions can be obtained here.

  • Results MUST be sent directly from the vendor to the State Medical Board of Ohio; the Board will not accept results from the applicant or a third party.

In-state applicants

  • You must use the services of a vendor that participates in the national WebCheck program. Click here for a list of vendors. The sheriff's offices in most Ohio counties also participate in WebCheck. Please allow at least two to four weeks for the Board to receive and process in-state background checks.

Out-of-state applicants

  • ​All applicants for licensure are required to complete an FBI and Ohio BCI criminal records check. The Ohio background check packet and instructions can be obtained here. Please allow at least two to eight weeks for the Board to receive and process out-of-state background checks.

 

​​Examination Information


The competency examination approved by the Board for Ohio licensure is the exam offered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration (RD Exam).

Registration examination information and schedule of tests may be obtained from:

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Commission on Dietetic Registration
120 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 2000, Chicago, IL 60606
(800) 877-1600
http://cdrnet.org

 

Advisory Council Members


The dietetic advisory council appointments were made at the April 11, 2018 board meeting.

 

Board Meetings


A list of 2018 board meetings can be found here. Meetings are open to the public and all are welcome to attend.

 

Current Laws and Rules


 

Additional Resources