Proposed Dietetics Rules for Continuing Education and Limited Permits

The Licensure Committee of the Medical Board approved the proposed Ohio Administrative
Code (“OAC”) Dietetics rules for Continuing Education (4759-4-04) and Limited Permit (4759-4-
08) for initial circulation on August 14, 2019. A summary of the attached proposed rules is
provided below:

Proposed amended rule 4759-4-04 Continuing Education

The rule seeks to improve the efficiency of the continuing education process for
dietitians applying for license renewal or restoration by doing four things:

e Registered dietitians must certify completion of the continuing education required to hold
current registration with the Commission on Dietetic Registration. This is consistent with a
recent statutory change for the Physician Assistant continuing education.

e Licensed dietitians who are not registered would certify completion of 30 hours of continuing
education completed during every 2-year renewal period. These continuing education hours
shall be from courses approved by the Commission on Dietetic Registration, Academy of
Nutrition and Dietetics, or the Ohio Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. This means that the
Licensure Committee and the full Medical Board will no longer be collecting and approving
coursework for individual learning plans.

e All licensed dietitians (including those registered) must also complete one hour of ethics, laws,
rules, and regulations governing the practice of dietetics for each 2-year renewal period. These
continuing education hours shall be from courses approved by the Commission on Dietetic
Registration, Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, or the Ohio Academy of Nutrition and
Dietetics. This means that the Medical Board staff will no longer be generating content for a
Jurisprudence course and the Licensure Committee and full Board will no longer be reviewing
and approving Jurisprudence courses. Further, registered dietitians can use these ethics
courses to meet their requirements with CDR and the Medical Board.

e The amended rule informs all licensees that they are subject to the new statutory audit and
disciplinary provisions of divisions (E) and (F) of section 4759.06 of the Revised Code for failure
to comply with this rule.

Proposed amended rule 4759-4-08 Limited Permit

Changes to this proposed rule strengthen the supervision of limited permit holders that
have failed the CDR exam once. Also, the proposed rule clearly articulates that the licensed
dietitian has the responsibility to properly supervise these limited permit holders that have failed
the exam once and document that supervision. Failure to do so shall constitute a minimal
standards of care violation by the licensed dietitian. Lastly, restrictions on the length of the term
of the limited permit and number of limited permit renewals reflects that the CDR exam is
administered much more frequently than twice a year.



Written comments must be received by the end of the business day on
September 13, 2019.

Send comments to: Nathan.Smith@med.ohio.gov



4759-4-04 Continuing education.

(A) Eaeh An applicant for renewal or restoration of a license shall demonstrate compliance with the
continuing education/professional development requirements of this rule.

(B) Eaeh An applicant for license renewal or restoration shall:

(1) Be If licensee is a registered dietitian, certify completion of the continuing education required to hold
current registration with the commission on dietetic registration, and complete one hour of ethics or
laws, rules, and regulations governing the practice of dietetics in the two-year renewal period. These
continuing education hours shall be from courses approved by the commission on dietetic registration,
academy of nutrition and dietetics, or the Ohio academy of nutrition and dietetics; or

“The-commission-on-dieteticregistration— certify the completion of thirty hours of continuing education
completed during the two-year renewal period. At least one hour in each renewal period shall relate to
ethics or laws, rules, and regulations governing the practice of dietetics. These continuing education
hours shall be from courses approved by the commission on dietetic registration, academy of nutrition
and dietetics, or the Ohio academy of nutrition and dietetics.

(C) All licensees are subject to the audit and disciplinary provisions of divisions (E) and (F) of section

4759.06 of the Revised Code for failure to comply with this rule.




4759-4-08 Limited permit.

(A) The board may grant a limited permit to a person who has completed the education and
preprofessional requirements for licensure upon the following conditions:

(1) The person has filed a completed application for a limited permit and paid the appropriate fee;

(2) The application contains any required statements or transcripts verifying completion of the academic
and preprofessional requirements in order to qualify to take the examination for licensure; and

(3) The applicant indicates intent to take the examination for licensure within seven six months of the
issuance of the limited permit.

(B) The permit shall expire if the permit holder fails to take the examination in a timely manner or fails
the examination twice.
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(C) Limited permits sh

(D) A limited permit may be renewed once.

(E) A limited permit holder who fails the examination must report the results to the board office
immediately.

(1) The first time the limited permit holder fails, the limited permit holder shall practice only under the

direct supervision of an Ohio licensed dietitian as-appreved-by-the beard.

(2) The second time the limited permit holder fails, the limited permit expires immediately.
(F) A limited permit shall not be issued to a person who has failed the examination two or more times.

(G) The licensed dietitian who provides direct supervision of a person who has failed the examination
and holds a limited permit shall provide sufficient guidance and direction to enable the person to
perform competently and to protect the public.

(1) The licensed dietitian shall document a supervision plan for the limited permit holder to include goals
for competencies and shall periodically document the limited permit holder’s progress. Documentation
shall include, but is not limited to, dates of conferences, supervisory notes, written evaluations and
recommendations. Documentation should be maintained in the licensed dietitian’s records and be
available upon request of the board.

(2) Direct supervision means that the licensee providing the supervision needs to be readily available by
telecommunication, or in person and the licensee must review the work of the supervisee at least every
fourteen seven days. When reviewing the work of a supervisee, the licensee shall comply with standards
for professional responsibility and practice set forth in Chapter 4759-6 of the Administrative Code.

(H) It is the licensed dietitian’s responsibility to supervise the limited permit holder and to adequately

document that supervision. Failure to do so shall be considered a violation of the minimal standards of
care for the licensed dietitian and may result in discipline of the licensed dietitian by the state medical
board.
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