Physician (MD, DO, DPM)

Doctor of Medicine Renewal

License Renewal


Ohio licenses may be renewed online at elicense.ohio.gov. You may view your renewal status online here.

Renewals can be submitted within 180 days prior to the expiration date.

Renewal reminders are no longer mailed. There is a system generated email at 90, 60 and 30-days prior to the expiration date. Please check your spam or junk folders for this notice, since they are delivered from a “NoReply” account and keep your email updated.

Licenses issued effective 10/17/19 and thereafter will expire two years after the original date of issuance:

  • for existing license holders, the renewal deadline will continue to be on the same date as it is currently

  • for new license holders this means renewal will occur on the two-year anniversary of initial issuance and every two years thereafter

  • pro-rated CME applies only to initial licenses issued prior to 10/17/2019 with less than 18 months of licensure

Physicians renewing their license must complete 50 hours of CME designated by the AMA as category 1, by the AOA as category 1-A or 2-A, or by the APMA as category 1. Physicians residing or practicing outside of Ohio, and physicians who are not currently practicing, must complete CME requirements if they wish to maintain their license.

Reinstatement CME requires the above criteria within 24 months prior to submission and must be completed before reinstating a license.

 

You can watch a short video walking through the eLicense process:

Because the Medical Board has recently converted to a new licensure system, you will need to register in eLicense before you can start the renewal process. You will need the following information:

  • Navigate to eLicense.ohio.gov

  • Choose Login / Create an Account

  • Click the I Have a License button

  • You will need the following to register:

    • Security Code (sent to you by the Medical Board)

    • Email

    • Social Security Number

    • Date of Birth

    • Create/confirm a unique password

 

 Once on your Dashboard:

  • Find the license you wish to renew

  • Click the Options button on that license tile

  • Choose Renew from the dropdown options

  • Be sure to update your profile and contact information

  • Access your shopping cart to pay renewal fees with a credit card

An automated email will be sent to you once you have successfully completed the renewal application and paid the required fee. If you have questions or need assistance, please email license@med.ohio.gov.

 

Late License Renewal


Late renewal is applicable if the license has lapsed for less than two years.

 

License Restoration


An individual should apply for a restoration application if their license has been inactive for two years or more. A license may be restored upon an applicant's submission of a restoration application, the restoration fee and submission of criminal background checks. Please note: The board may require additional training or examination, or both, of any applicant who for the two years or more immediately preceding the date of application has not been engaged in clinical practice. To restore a license, log into the eLicense portal: eLicense.ohio.gov

 

Renewal Fees


Renewal fee $305.00

Late renewal fee $405.00

Restoration fee $505.00

Transaction fee $3.50

Physician Loan Repayment Program fee $20.00​

  • Pursuant to Ohio law, twenty dollars of each renewal fee goes to the Physician Loan Repayment Fund which provides loan repayment assistance to physicians who commit to practice in underserved areas. Further information regarding the Ohio Physician Loan Repayment Program can be found on the Ohio Department of Health’s website here.

 

Continuing Medical Education (CME) Requirements


  • 50 CME hours in a two-year cycle, which must be Category 1

  • Residencies and fellowships earn one half CME Category 1 hour per week

  • Note: effective 9/29/2017, the CME cycle period begins on the effective date of the license and ends on the date of expiration

Category 1 (1A or 2A)

  • Pre-approved accredited CME courses where a certificate is granted for completion of courses

  • Online CME courses (all 50 Category 1 CME may be earned from online courses)

  • Accrediting agencies include: AMA, AOA, ACCME, AAFP, CPME, OHFAMA, most specialty boards, and hospitals

Not Category 1 (1A or 2A)   

  • Reading medical articles and journals

  • Attending medical lectures

  • Teaching interns in physician’s office

  • Other activities for which no certificate is granted for completion of course and/or non-accredited CME courses

CME Records/Audits

  • CME cycles are for two years; records of CME must be retained for two years after the end of the CME cycle

  • Physicians may be selected at random for auditing of CME hours. Upon receipt of an audit notification, the requested information must be provided within the timeframe indicated on the notice

  • All CME transcripts that are provided to the board must include the physician’s Ohio license number and name

 

​​Submitting CME

  • CME Audit Log form

  • Click here to learn more about tracking your CME online with CE Broker.

  • Ohio Administrative Code requires practitioners to retain their CME records for two renewal cycles (at least 4 years).

​​Additional Information 

Keep your email updated with the board here. Upon completion of the online renewal, check your email for the renewal confirmation letter. There is a replica of the wallet card at the bottom. Please contact us at license@med.ohio.gov if you have any questions.

No provisions exist between Ohio and other states for reciprocity of CME licensure requirements for renewal.

Telemedicine


Telemedicine certificates have been converted to standard MD or DO licenses. Ohio’s law regarding telemedicine certificates has been repealed, eliminating the need for a separate certificate. MD and DO licensees are required to meet Ohio’s continuing education requirements in order to renew their license (50 hours of Category 1 CME every two years). Physicians wishing to provide health care via telemedicine to individuals located in Ohio may do so under their full Ohio license.

 

Forms and Helpful Links


FAQs